

The South African Medico Legal Society

The South African Medico Legal Association (SAMLA)

[Previously The South African Medico Legal Society (SAMLS)]

TRANSFORMATION POLICY

Adopted Unanimously at the AGM - 21 November 2015

SAMLA will be enriched and empowered by the enrolment of greater numbers of previously disadvantaged professional members, as well as by the appointment of previously disadvantaged members and female members as directors. In this way SAMLA will be better able to serve the interests of the medico-legal professional community and the public at large.

The Board of SAMLA therefore calls on current members of the association, as well as interested professional bodies and institutions, to encourage our brothers and sisters from previously disadvantaged groups to join the association. Bearing in mind that directors of SAMLA need to be suitably qualified and experienced to play a leading role, and that they are required to share their valuable time, experience and creative thinking without any material compensation, the Board further calls upon its members, as well as interested professional bodies and institutions, to nominate suitably experienced and committed male and female professionals from previously disadvantaged groups for election as directors.

In encouraging the enrolment of new members, as well as acceptance of nomination to directorship, candidates should be informed that although there are no material benefits, both membership and directorship of SAMLA bring opportunities to meet and network with relevant professionals, but more importantly bring rich intellectual rewards associated with learning, teaching and engagement with stimulating- and influential minds.

Deputy Chairperson of SAMLA

Herman J. Edeling

Non-Profit Company. Registration Number: 2005/013822/08

Web: www.medicolegal.org.za I E-mail: admin@medicolegal.org.za

Directors: The Hon Mr Justice CJ Claassen (Chairperson), Dr HJ Edeling (Deputy Chairperson), Dr HB Pienaar (Treasurer), Mr U Fobian (Director of Administration), Prof JHR Becker (Education Director), Adv AT Lamey (Director of Mediation and Arbitration), Ms R Sutherland (Western Cape Branch Chairperson), Adv IT Dutton (KZN Branch Chairperson), Dr H Lerm (Eastern Cape Branch Chairperson), Adv CA Da Silva SC, Dr DJJ De Klerk, Dr HB Enslin, Dr AM Kellerman, Prof EEG Lautenbach, Mr J Nkeli, Mr TL Reynolds, Prof G Saayman, Dr F Snyckers, Dr Adv AH van den Bout, Adv P van den Heever, Dr CJ van Zyl-Edeling